English 101 ~ Novel Discussion Board #2

Catherine has died. Edgar suffers the loss in silence; Heathcliff instinctively knows she has passed. The question of whether they really “love” each other has to be addressed. This question raises another; what kind of love–or feeling–is Emily Brontë depicting?

C H E

Dr. Stanton Peele, noted psychologist, claims:
An addiction exists when a person’s attachment to a sensation, an object, or another person is such as to lessen his appreciation of and ability to deal with other things in his environment, or in himself, so that he has become increasingly dependent on that experience as his only source of gratification.

In a well-developed response explain whether you believe Heathcliff and Catherine’s attachment is ideal love (like soul mates) or an addictive kind of love, but not both. Incorporate at least two quotes from the text to support your claim (no citations needed). You may also address the question of why she married Edgar.

Read every post! You may not use any quote that any other poster has used.

22 responses to “English 101 ~ Novel Discussion Board #2

  • Jordan Hall

    I see the relationship between Heithcliff and Catherine as one of true love. One example that exhibits this relationship would be that when Heithcliff found out about her death he did not break down with emotions because he already knew just by his intuition. He was past the sad state of mourning already and he was almost mad and trying to find a blame for who killed her or who could have saved her but didn’t. He says,”She’s dead! I’ve not waited for you to learn that. Put your handkerchief away- don’t snivel before me. Damn you all! she wants none of your tears!” His love was so strong for her that he had already known that she had died before he was even told. It was his own intuition that told him she was gone, His love was so strong that he stayed there and waited under the tree just so he could be close to her. He couldn’t bare to be apart from her in her time of need. Another quote was when Heithcliff proclaims,”Be with me always- take any form- drive me mad! only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you! Oh God it is unutterable! I cannot live without my life! I cannot live without my soul!” He says he just simply cannot live his own life if she is not there. He is the only thing that matters to her. He wants her to haunt him and take the form of a ghost. He doesn’t care if he is tormented just as long as she is still with him in some way. He even refers to her as his soul. That, to me, is true love.

  • Adrianna Bowman

    “Two words would comprehend my future – death and hell: existence, after losing her, would be hell. Yet I was a fool to fancy for a moment that she valued Edgar Linton’s attachment more than mine. If he loved with all the powers of his puny being, he couldn’t love as much in eighty years as I could in a day.”(chapter 14)
    Heathcliff states that life is not worth living if he does not have Catherine. For this reason i do think that in this moment, the love is true, he seems to be very sincere. As he thinks about living without her he become bitter and mean. I do think that Heathcliff and Catherine have a true connection.

  • Jared Ralph

    I find the relationship between Heathcliff and Catherine as an addictive kind of love. When Heathcliff enters the room after Nelly gave Catherine the letter, they enter into a conversation in which Catherine admits that both Heathcliff and Edgar have broken her heart. However, she does go on to say that she cannot bear dying while Heathcliff still lives and that she never wants to be apart from him again. She then goes on and begs for his forgiveness by saying, “I’m not wishing you greater torment than I have, Heathcliff. I only wish us never to be parted: and should a word of mine distress underground, and for my own sake, forgive me!” He does forgive her for the pain she has caused him in his life, but he says he can never forgive her for the pain she has caused herself. He even mentions that she has killed herself with her own behavior and that he can never forgive her murderer. He says, “I forgive what you have done to me. I love my murderer-but yours! How can I?” This shows that Heathcliff and Catherine still care about one another and that there are problems that prevent their love from happening. Basically, it shows that they still love one another, but they are bad for each other.

  • Jordyn Martin

    I believe the relationship between Heathcliff and Catherine is ideal love. Catherine expresses how she and Heathcliff are the same person; they share a soul. Their love seems to never die. Even through each other’s absence over an extended period they have no trouble picking up where they left off. “My love for Heathcliff resembles the eternal rocks beneath: a source of little visible delight, but necessary. Nelly, I am Heathcliff! He’s always, always in my mind: not as a pleasure, any more than I am always a pleasure to myself, but as my own being.” Heathcliff also refers to them as one, implying they share the same heart. He would not leave her because he knew she was dying and wanted to be with her but Edgar would not allow it. “Because misery, and degradation and death, and nothing that God or Satan could inflict would have parted us, you, of your own will, did it. I have not broken your heart—you have broken it; and in breaking it, you have broken mine.” In choosing Edgar over Heathcliff and still keeping connections with Heathcliff, Catherine created a bond that neither of them could break. Over time that bond only became stronger leaving everyone around them, more so themselves, hurting.

  • Grey Hofmann

    The love between Heathcliff and Catherine is addictive love, they cannot be apart from each other because they spent so much time together as they grew up. Heathcliff says to Catherine “You loved me-then what right had you to leave me?” (p. 158, ch.15). He is angry with her that she left without consulting him because he is attached to her almost physically. They can’t stand to be without one another, Catherine says to Heathcliff “You must not go! You shall not, I tell you.” (p. 159, ch.15). Catherine doesn’t want Heathcliff to leave her with Edgar because she fears she is about to die from childbirth.

  • Sydney Hitchel

    I think the love between Catherine and Heathcliff is true. Heathcliff doesn’t want to live with out her. She says that she is not ready to die because she doesn’t want to leave Heathcliff behind. He even goes as far as to wish her to not rest in peace, so that she can haunt him so they can be together. He said, “May she wake in torment!” this was the beginning of his begging for her to not leave him. He continued to say, “Catherine Earnshaw, you may not rest as long as I am living! You said I killed you-haunt me, then!” This shows how desperate he is to be with her, because he loved her so much. Heathcliff also said, “It is unutterable! I cannot live without my life! I cannot live without my soul!” this shows just how much Catherine meant to him.

  • Drew Dalton

    I would say the love between Heathcliff and Catherine is an addictive love considering how frequently they are with each other growing up, and the complaining from both of them when they are separated. Heathcliff has stated that he cannot live without her around repeatedly, regardless of the fact she chose Edgar over him. To me it just seems to be a bond to each other’s company and not each others personality, especially when both have dialogues saying they hate to be away from each other. “I will see her, and I will be justified to go to extremes” from Heathcliff and and quote from the narrator- “she has a capacity for strong attachments or she wouldn’t have abandoned her comforts and friends”

  • Madelin Bishop

    I think Catherine and Heathcliff have an ideal kind of love. For instance when Heathcliff ran away, Catherine went crazy and stayed outside most of the nigh waiting for his return. When Heathcliff is gone, Catherine is thinking about him and wondering where he is. Also, when Heathcliff returns he makes visits every day to see Catherine. They are in an ideal love because they are also always wondering how the other one is and if everything is okay. Through all of their ups and downs, they always manage to forgive each other and move on. “I wish you had sincerity enough to tell me whether Catherine would suffer greatly from the loss- the fear that she would restrains me.”(Page 146) This quote shows that Heathcliff wants to make her happy no matter what it is. He loves her so much that he will not kill Edward Linton, if it would upset Catherine, which is true love. “Go and carry my message,” he interrupted impatiently. “I’m in hell till you do!”(Page 94) Heathcliff shows that he is misery knowing that Catherine has been so upset about him being gone, and he is miserable until she sees him and is happy again. Heathcliff once again, wants her to be the happiest she can be, they show true compassion for one another.

  • Brianna Boswell

    I believe that the love between Catherine and Heathcliff is an ideal kind of love. They feel that they cannot be separated, not even for one minute. Heathcliff tells Catherine, “I’ll see you again before you are asleep. I won’t stray five yards from your window.” When Catherine tells Heathcliff that he must stay because she is about to die, Heathcliff says, “Hush, my darling! Hush, hush, Catherine! I’ll stay. If he shot me so, I’d expire with a blessing on my lips.” Heathcliff didn’t care what happened to him in that moment. All he cared about was being able to spend a little time with Catherine before Edgar showed up. Heathcliff and Catherine were truely in love.

  • galtea

    Catherine and Heathcliff had deep love or each other.While Catherine was ill and being tended to, Heathcliff did all he could to visit her. When he was told no by Nelly He threatened her, saying he would hold her as a prisoner and even go visit her alone. When Heathcliff is finally able to visit her, they being having a conversation despite how weak Catherine is. She begs for his forgiveness and says that she cannot die while Heathcliff is still alive. After hearing this Heathcliff is still in pain “I have not broken your heart—you have broken it; and in breaking it, you have broken mine.” He does end up forgiving her for the pain she has caused him but not the pain shes has caused upon herself. “I love my murderer-but yours? How can I?” Heathcliff knows Catherine is going to pass away and when he hears the news he is mentally prepared for it. After her death, he still wants to be by her side.

  • Morgan Montgomery

    I find the love between Heathcliff and Catherine to be considered more of an addictive kind of love. Being so close growing up, they are just instinctively so fond of each other and know each other like the back of their hands. With this being said, they don’t see it as any other choice but to be in love with each other. Whenever realizing that this may not work, they marry other people. While each married on their own, whenever the two meet up again, Catherine and Heathcliff may become extremely giddy and strive for each other, but they just do not seem to ideally fit together perfectly. On page 111, whenever Catherine heard of Heathcliff’s relationship with Isabella, she confronted him, and he said to her, “What is it to you? I have a right to kiss her, if she chooses, and you have no right to object. I’m not your husband; you needn’t be jealous of me!” When saying this, Heathcliff does not sound as engaged in her as he was in the past. Now, he seems more interested in Isabella, and true love doesn’t work like that. Then, on page 163, after Catherine’s passing, Heathcliff says, “May she wake in torment! Why, she’s a liar to the end!” This is not how one would react to hearing of the death of their ‘true love’. If Heathcliff truly loved Catherine altogether, he would be mourning the loss instead of cursing it.

  • Adam Moser

    “If he shot me so, I’d expire with a blessing on my lips.” I believe this quote shows true love because he is choosing to spend a little extra time with her knowing the risk of Edgar killing him for being there. If it was just an addictive love he wouldn’t risk his life just to comfort her for that little time.”Look there! he said. Unless you be a fiend, help her first-then you shall speak to me!” This line also shows true love because again he is thinking about her needs over his own. He is telling Edgar to help her and make sure she is alright; once you take care of her and she is safe, then you can deal with me. Heathcliff knew his consequences but he had to make sure Catherine was alright and taken care of first, then he can handle whatever punishment knowing she is safe.

  • Jessica Embry

    I think that Catherine and Heathcliff’s love is true love. Mr. Earnshaw cried “What a gipsy – the ploughboy? Why did you not say so to Catherine?” Nelly replies, ” Hush! you must not call him by those names, master. She’d be sadly grieved to hear you. She was nearly heartbroken when he ran off. I guess his return will make a jubilee to her.” (page 95). This conversation came right after Earnshaw found out that Heathcliff is back. Nelly tells him that he knows how heartbroken Catherine was when Heathcliff left. Even though Catherine married Edgar after Heathcliff left, I don’t think she did it necessarily because she loves Edgar the way she loves Heathcliff. I think Catherine felt obligated to marry Edgar because he had money, unlike Heathcliff. Catherine also gets jealous when Heathcliff kisses Isabella and Heathcliff says “I have the right to kiss her… I’m not your husband, you needn’t be jealous of me.” (page 111). This section told me that Catherine and Heathcliff both still care about each other.

  • Jonathan Kinison

    I think Cathrine and Heat cliffs love is addictive love. I think this because when Edgar demand her to choose she say’s ” ‘I require to be let alone!’ (exclaimed Cathrine, furriously). ‘I demand it! Don’t you see i can scarcely stand? Edgar, you- you leave me!’ “. I think that if it was ideal love she wouldn’t hesitat to leave Edgar for Heathcliff, instead she panics and trys to end the current outburst without making a choice. And on Heathcliffs part, he seem to behave with out thinking one his actions, ” ‘I shall not refuse to go out of doors’ Heathcliff answered, ‘but I shall stay in the garden…’ “, he is saying that just so he can be close to Cathrine he would stay in their garden.

  • William Robinson

    I think Catherine and Heathcliff have ideal love. Even after months without seeing one another, Catherine is still very excited to see Heathcliff, even though she has been married for 6 months. When Catherine becomes ill, she says her spirit will never be at rest until she can be with Heathcliff. “Oh, Cathy! Oh, my life! how can i bear it?” Heathcliff still deeply cares for Cartherine, even after he marries Isabella. “I wish I could hold you, till we were both dead!” Here Catherine expresses her love for Heathcliff, showing that he is the person she wants to die by, which i think expresses ideal love.

  • Mitchell Jones

    I believe Heathcliff and Catherine’s love was an addictive one. “”Come in! come in!” he sobbed. “Cathy, do come. Oh, do – once more! Oh! My heart’s darling, hear me this time – Catherine, at last!”” This shows Heathcliffs addictive love for Catherine because after all these years he still hasn’t made peace with the fact she is dead, and will not even let anyone sleep in her room at Wuthering Heights. “She was much too fond of Heathcliff. The greatest punishment we could invent for her was to keep her separate from him: yet she got chided more than any of us on his account.” This shows Catherines addictive love for Heathcliff, constantly getting in trouble for him, and that her worst punishment was not being able to see him.

  • Maci Quisenberry

    I think Catherine and Heathcliff show true love between one another. When Heathcliff finds out that Catherine has become ill he tries all he can to go see her. “Are they home? where is she? Nelly, you are not glad! you needn’t be so disturbed. Is she here? Speak! I want to have one word with her-your mistress. Go, and say some person from Gimmerton desires to see her.” This quote was spoken by Heathcliff to Nelly, Heathcliff had been waiting on the porch for an hour just to speak to Nelly so Nelly could go inside and get Catherine. Even after have being gone for a while Heathcliff still desires to see Catherine and he will not stop until he does. When Catherine gets news that Heathcliff is back she appears to be excited. She knows that her husband does not like Heathcliff but she still insists on inviting him inside their home. “”I know you don’t like him,” she answered, repressing a little the intensity of her delight. “Yet for my sake, you must be friends now. Shall I tell him to come up now?”” In this quote Catherine goes against her husbands wishes and invites Heathcliff into their home, so she can see him. Heathcliff and Catherine still long to see each other even when they haven’t seen each other in three years, this to me is an example of true love expressed through both of them.

  • kj2558200

    I think that Heathcliff and Catherine have an addictive type of love. They can not stand being away from each other they need each other or they will go mad.” I was a child; my misery arose from the separation that Hindley ordered between me and Heathcliff.” Catherine’s quote shows that they have had a need for each other even since they were young which carried on all their lives. Heathcliff states after Catherine dies, “Be with me always-take any form- drive me mad only do not leave me in this abyss, where i cannot find you!” This shows Heathcliff needs her,he is willing to be haunted by Catherine and for her to drive him mad just so she will be with him. I think this shows how addictive their love is because he is willing to basically go crazy just to be with her.

  • Isai Amaya

    I feel that Catherine and Heathcliff have an addictive kind of love. Catherine and Heathcliff have relied on each other as their only source of happiness and that is the exact definition of an addictive love. Heathcliff tells Nelly “I must exact a promise from you, that you’ll get me an interview with her consent, or refuse, I will see her!” This shows how Heathcliff’s addiction has increased to the point of demanding someone to arrange an interview for them to meet. Catherine always talking about the moors also shows how she is obsessed with that and this indicates an addiction.

  • Traci Renfrow

    I think the relationship is an ideal love because even after Catherine married Edgar, she still wanted to be with Heathcliff. “I forgive what you have done to me.” Heathcliff still forgives Catherine after all she had done, like marrying Edgar instead of Heathcliff, which I think she did because Catherine would be worried about what other people thought about her if she did marry Heathcliff.

  • Olivia Bradley

    When Heathcliff returns home after the marriage of Catherine and Edgar, Catherine becomes very excited at the sight of Heathcliff and their affection for one another makes Edgar jealous. While Heathcliff was away, “Catherine had seasons of gloom and silence now and then: they were respected with sympathizing silence by her husband, who ascribed them to an alteration in her constitution, produced by her perilous illness, as she was never subject to depression of spirits before. the return of sunshine was welcomed by answering sunshine from him. I believe I may assert that they were really in possession of deep and growing happiness.” This makes me doubt Heathcliff and Catherine’s true love because my idea of addiction are people that need that certain person, object, or sensation and feel down unless they have it which is how Catherine was feeling. Therefore, their love is addictive not true. Another example would be, “He took a seat opposite Catherine, who kept her gaze fixed on him as if feared he would vanish were she to remove it.” This obsessive act is proving that she needs him for her own gain and happiness, not the kind of love which one should need to make their partner happy.

  • Kristen Lively

    Catherine and Heathcliffs love is one of ideal love. Even though Catherine married Edgar, she says she loves Heathcliff and wants to be with him. Only marrying Edgar because thats what society would have approved of at the time. Heathcliff and Catherine bpth have not gotten over each other even though they have married other people, showing their love is forever and is true love.

Leave a Reply

